XNA Airport Board of Directors

XNA - NWA National Airport Authority Board of Directors

Purposes, Powers, and Duties

The Northwest Arkansas National Airport Authority is an independent public entity created pursuant to state statute, Title 14, Chapter 362, of the Arkansas Code. The law provides that the “Authority shall be governed by a Board of Directors consisting of 14 members appointed by the Governmental Units.” The Authority was created by the Cities of Bentonville, Fayetteville, Rogers, Siloam Springs, and Springdale, and the Counties of Benton and Washington in 1990. The mayors and county judges of the governmental entities appoint members to the Authority’s Board of Directors, and the appointments must then be ratified by the City Councils, City Board or Quorum Courts of the governmental entities. The terms of office for the Board members are six years, and Board members are eligible for reappointment. Each Board member must be a qualified elector of the governmental entity that he or she represents. The state law also stipulated that “the purpose of the Authority shall be to acquire, equip, construct, maintain and operate a regional airport or airports and such auxiliary services and facilities as may be deemed desirable from time to time by the Board of Directors.” The law goes on the specify that the Authority has the power to enter into contracts, apply for and receive grants, acquire and hold title to lands, borrow money, issue bonds, enact and enforce all rules, regulations, and ordinances for the operations’ of the Authority, and to levy and collect certain fees and taxes.

This is a 6-year term and the Board meets quarterly. 

Interested residents should fill out the online application here or they may inquire at Bentonville City Hall, located at 305 SW  A Street or by phone (479-)-271-5966.